No Widgets found in the Sidebar

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra of Amsterdam – Daniele Gatti
Works by Wagner & Mahler
June 30 2010, 21:00 / Odeon of Herodes Atticus
Conducted by Daniele Gatti

Richard Wagner (1813-1883)
Siegfried Idyll

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
Symphony no. 5 in C sharp minor

One of Europe’s finest orchestras graces the Athens Festival, performing two works whose confessional mood stems from them having been written at critical moments in their composers’ lives. Impassioned and dark, wild and heroic, otherworldly, tranquil and sensual, Mahler’s Fifth Symphony (1901-2) runs the gamut of emotions from the fear of death to the hope of resurrection in the light of love. A lighter and more tender piece, Siegfried Idyll (1870) was Wagner’s gesture of love towards his wife, Cosima, and their newborn son; a little gem of optimism and elegance.

Tickets €50 (Prime Circle); €40 (A); €30 (B); €20 (C); €15 (Upper Tier) Concessions available
Ticket’s presale starts on 9 June.

By Athensguide

How does a little girl from Skokie, Illinois find herself in historical Athens, leading curious explorers through the winding streets of Plaka, down "pezodromos" to hidden ouzeries for tempting mezedhes and homemade barrel wine? The journey began more than twenty years ago, and regardless of whether the wanderlust comes from the spiritual and culture DNA flowing through my veins, or the alignment of the stars on that cold mid-December day this Sagitterian came into the world, I never seem to tire of exploring my adopted homeland of Greece. Here you'll join me as I explore Athens: be it the back streets of Psirri and Gazi, or through the National Gardens and Zappeio where a family of turtles makes their home, or down wide, treelined Imittou Street in Pagrati, which pulses with Athenian life 24 hours a day. And while Athens has stolen my heart, the rest of Greece vies for my curiousity and wanderlust. My two guys (that'd be the Greek God, Vasilis and our Greek dog, Scruffy) and I can often be found settling in for a long weekend in some charming mountain village, or a quaint fishing port on a nearby island, or learning how Greek vitners are producing wines that rival some of Napa Valley's finests productions, or celebrating a panayeri in Epirus or sharing in the festivities as a family of Cretan sheepherders come together to sheer their 1500 sheep in the spring ... And if you happen to find yourself heading to Athens, consider finding yourself a real home for your stay. Living amongst the locals, be it for 3 nights or 3 weeks, will offer you the chance to experience true Athens, beyond the Acropolis. Choose from one of our 5 beautiful penthouse and historical homes, and who knows, I may be leading you down that winding "pezodromo" to our favorite hidden ouzerie!

Related Post